Internship: The Local Voice

In May of 2016, I had the opportunity to travel to  New York City with my professor, Dr. Samir “Mr. Magazine” Husni to explore “Magazine Making in New York City.” While there, we met with CEOs, publishers, and editors of various publishing companies and magazines. The trip sparked my passion for magazines and publications. So much so that I came back to Oxford and found an internship at a local entertainment publication called The Local Voice.

The Local Voice covers entertainment in North Mississippi. Everything from food and drink specials to events to artists profiles can be found in The Local Voice. I have always been a fan of The Local Voice. Not just for the drink specials, but for the content they produce about local artists and culture. When I saw they were hiring interns, I applied immediately.

I started the internship in August. My duties included editorial tasks such as proof-reading, fact-checking, and researching, as well as providing content for both the printed publication and Word Press site. The feature image shows a tag-line I produced for the Christmas Edition: “Good Things Come in Local Packages.” I assisted in any way I could; delivering papers, working on the Word Press, and providing input during editorial meetings.

Through my internship at The Local Voice, I improved on and developed a variety of skills. It was very beneficial to gain experience working for a print publication.

Working at The Local Voice was the highlight of last semester. More than anything, I now feel a deeper connection to Oxford. It can be difficult for an out-of-towner to make Oxford feel like home. Seeing the town through the lens of TLV made me appreciate the history and culture of Oxford and North Mississippi.

 

Leave a Reply

